A Quote That Will Completely Change The Way You Think About Love

While some people need ‘love’ because they want to really feel it. I think they’re confused beings. We should love not just because we want to be loved in return. We love because we are sure that we, first, love ourselves and so we can give love -at its finest- to others. We love ourselves, meaning, even when heartache comes, we know and are sure of that we’re still complete. And we’re not afraid that nothing would be left to ourselves because we know, for a fact, that we first loved ourselves. -C

Thought Catalog

Recently I came across a love quote and up until this day I’m still quite surprised by how much it has made me reflect on the way I see love and how I love. The quote comes from a 1996 film called Dream for an Insomniac:

QuoteCatalog32

This quote grips me, because it’s antithetical to what I’d previously believed in. I had always advised my girlfriends, NEVER invest more than what you think the other party is putting in: “Don’t like/love him more than he likes/loves you.” Because it’s not safe for your heart. Because you might get hurt, you might fall too deep, you might lose control of your own emotions and thoughts. Because he might not be worth it after all.

But I was wrong. Now I know otherwise.

Love should be mad, reckless and dangerous. It ought to be! It should require your every ounce of courage…

View original post 274 more words

Leave a Reply

