Truth Thursday: I Wish You Would Say

I remember my short and sweet, funny awkward encounter with you.

You were the extrovert one.

I was the introvert.

I don’t think that it was a good thing that we both came to class early.

I pretended not to notice your presence and just continued listening to some tunes in my iPod. You went to your seat. Minutes passed, yet there were only four of us inside.

You walked towards me in slow mo while Here Comes Your Man by The Pixies is playing and asked where were the others. I really don’t know what to say so I just shrugged my shoulders. You did not leave. You were staring at me and smiling. And I was hoping that you would ask me something, anything, just to start a conversation. Like:

Where do you live? You always come to class pretty early. I always see you with your notebook. Do you write? Do you draw? Can I see? Can you draw me? I noticed that you always had your earphones in. What music do you listen to? Wow, we have similar taste in music. Let’s be friends.

I could have answered:

I live in _______, you? Wow, we’re from North and South. You also come to class early. Traffic’s pretty bad, right? Yeah, I draw, I also write. Sure! You can take a look! I listen to this band and that band. Really? You also like them? like really like them? Cool! Sure, friends?

Instead, you smiled while you were writing something on your paper. You’re staring at me, still smiling. You stuttered and asked:

W-what’s the date today?

7th, today’s the 7th.

I know we can’t go back to that time, but if given the chance to meet again.. same setting, you and me.. I hope that you’d sense and follow the script inside my head. Please say the things I want to hear so we can be friends as soon as possible. And please, don’t smile. Just don’t. It melts my poker face away.

…………..

(dear friends, i really can’t tell whether this happened in DLSU or Mint.. I just can’t. please. lol)

for Truth Thursdays on a Friday.🙂

One thought on “Truth Thursday: I Wish You Would Say

Leave a Reply

