On Living

Sometimes, I feel like I live under a rock. I feel that I’m left out by the continuous spinning of the world. It’s not that I want to run in the same pace as it but somehow, I want to experience what they’re seeing, doing, living, etc. This is not even about trends, I really don’t care about trends – sometimes I follow, sometimes I don’t. I’m fine with listening to The Beatles, The Monkees, Hall & Oates, The Ronettes, and all the other 50’s and 60’s music out there. But I also ache for not being able to go to Jason Mraz’s concert, or Keanes’ or John Mayer’s. I’m fine with staying at home during summer or Christmas vacation but I also wish to spend my vacation somewhere 700 miles away from our house. Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?

This is my life and it is real. I am not complaining. I’m just really wondering how my life runs slower/faster than the others. And I find it amazing, really amazing, how 7 billion people live lives differently from each other.

This is not a fantasy. This life is never a fantasy no matter how fancy or boring it may be. Every life has its own purpose. Mine has its own also. May be this living-under-a-rock is just a phase and will evolve into some YOLO phase or living-the-life phase. But for now, I’ll just live the moment. Maybe it’s not that boring after all.

Leave a Reply

